Skip to main content

Organisation of Bauhaus Luftfahrt

Bauhaus Luftfahrt e. V. was founded in 2005 as an independent non-profit research institution in reference to the historical Bauhaus in Dessau. Since 2013, it has received institutional funding from the Free State of Bavaria, having its office at the Ludwig Bölkow Campus near Munich since 2015. The Executive Director Research and Technology and the Executive Director Finance and Organisation are the Managing Directors. The General Assembly and the Advisory Board are the Supervisory Boards. Regularly occurring evaluations by external and independent evaluation panels from the aviation sector additionally serve to secure the scientific quality.

Organisation of Bauhaus Luftfahrt
General Assembly
Advisory Board
Programme Committee

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of Bauhaus Luftfahrt consists of four representatives. The charter members Airbus, Liebherr-Aerospace, and MTU Aero Engines each delegate one representative. Additional representatives are elected from the ranks of all other supporting members, actually IABG, by the General Assembly “Mitgliederversammlung”. Similar to a company’s Supervisory Board, Bauhaus Luftfahrt’s Advisory Board acts as a controlling and consulting body for its Executive Directors.

Advisory BoardAdvisory Board
Axel Flaig
Axel FlaigChairman of the Advisory BoardAirbus

Head of Airbus R&T and Central R&T

Prof. Dr. Rudolf F. Schwarz
Prof. Dr. Rudolf F. SchwarzIABG Industrieanlagen-Betriebsgesellschaft

Managing Director 

Josef Gropper
Josef GropperLiebherr-Aerospace Lindenberg

Managing Director

Lars Wagner
Lars WagnerVice Chairman of the Advisory BoardMTU Aero Engines

Chief Operating Officer